AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
387 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it possible to set up a CRT projector so that you can use the full resolution of the tubes in all three of the vital resolutions, ie 1.33:1, 1.78:1 and 2.35:1?

I was envisioning (dreaming about) a 2.35:1 screen on the wall and then viewing the other formats in their proper aspect ratio but with the same height (ie, not using the full screen width).

Would that make sense - and is it even possible to accomplish with a CRT projector?

·
Registered
1,536 Posts
I'm no expert, but i think it would be possible if you have clean CRTs.

My CRTs have a 4:3 wear pattern. The max horizontal size i can set the projector to is about 44%, any value beyond that the wear pattern will become visible. So i use that width setting for my 2.35:1 screen. This means that i cannot set the width setting on the projector low enough to make a 16:9 or 4:3 width with the same height as the 2.35:1 :( (And yes, i'm ready to get these CRTs redone so i can use more surface area :) Now i'm squeezing the vertical size all the way down to 4, and that is with the mod that is necessary for the E'home Marquees to do widescreen :eek: ...)

I would think if you have clean CRTs where you can set the width to 95% without any wear showing up, you can use that for the 2.35:1 width and still have a big chance of being able to set the width low enough to reach 16:9 and even 4:3 widths.