AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wanted to have a discussion about contrast and black level because it seems to be a serious issue with LCD/DLP/and LCoS projectors. I'm pretty new to projectors and have been reading this forum and studying up. My background is software engineering with most of my experience with video and graphics systems. I'm going to write what I see as definitions of and importance of contrast and black level in FPs.

Black level is the color of "black", the projector displays, where black is the absence of color/light.

Black level does not have much to do with contrast but more to do with viewing conditions. You can see this by displaying a picture, with black border (RGB 0,0,0), on your computer monitor. If your monitor is adjusted correctly for your normal viewing conditions this should look black or very close to black. You can verify you have black by turning down the monitor brightness until you don't see the black level change. Now the million dollar question; is that black? From a perspective of digital information it is because the pixel value is 0,0,0. From your perspective it is because it looks black. Now turn off the room lights and see if you still have black. Unless your room was already pretty dark you won't see black but grey. You need to re-adjust the monitor brightness to get black with the new ambient light level. To a user black level is seen as black relative to ambient light levels.