AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was at Best Buy store and I saw a DVD player that will play dvd's but also converts the resolution to High Def on the fly. It makes me thinking. There are some movies I've seen that were made in 1994 that were made high definition (such as Schindler's List). They did a good job making it high definition. Correct me if I'm wrong but back then they didn't have high definition. Even ET the movie they did a great job making it high def.

My question is this:

How would I go about transferring standard definition video to High definition? Is there a software I use for that? If so what is it called?

I'm sorry for the dumb questions but I'm new to this and I'm just curious how do they convert all those standard definition videos to high def. I heard that there is a software to do it but it is a really long process.

·
Registered
LG 55" C9 OLED, Yamaha RX-A660, Monoprice 5.1.2 Speakers, WMC HTPC, TiVo Bolt, X1
45,727 Posts
If the original content was recorded on film (35mm, and in some cases 16mm), and the film is still available, it can be transferred to HD video, and be considered native HD. This is because film has a higher resolution than HD video. It's no different than taking a new film and transferring it to HD video today. The only issue is what kind of shape the film is in, and with the available digital tools, even a film in poor shape can be restored to excellent condition.

This is why older movies made before HD existed can be transferred to HD video and are native HD. Many old films have been transferred to HD, including Gone With The Wind and The Wizard Of Oz, both made in 1939, and they are now native HD and they look great.

Older TV shows or other programs that were made on SD video before HD existed, can never be transferred to native HD, because SD video resolution is lower than HD.