AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Burned my first DVD on my Panny E80. I copied VHS tape to HD then I started playing the movie and hit paused. Then I pressed the dubbing button and pressed yes. I worked ok but wondered if that was the only way to copy a VhS movie to DVD besides that way and direct which I understand isn't recomended. Everyone here seems to prefer copy to HD first.

·
Registered
2,354 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by bigdog9586
...Everyone here seems to prefer copy to HD first.
But some of them could likely explain why. There is no wrong way to do what you are trying to do (well, OK, I'm sure someone can dream up a number of wrong scenarios). The important thing is what works, and what works for you, which is more important that what everyone else does.

The advantages of dubbing video you own to HDD first are probably limited to video that you want to edit by choosing in and out points directly on the HDD. There really is no benefit in the case of already captured or owned video to going to HDD first other than that, and it makes sense in that case to skip the intermediate step and dub directly to the DVD-R (carefully, of course).

For wild video you are capturing on the fly such as this week's ep of "Joan Of Arcadia", there is the above benefit of potentially editing out commercials (if applicable) plus the benefit of being able to dump the program is it is something that you simply want to view and erase, or is something you're not sure you want to commit a DVD-R blank to. You can capture it on the HDD and make those decisions later.