Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good Morning Gentlemen.

I was recently adjusting focus on my 45" RPTV and noticed something. The screen has a bit of inward bow which is causing the Corners and outside edges between the corners to be less focused than the center of the screen.

Do the Mits RPTV's allow for adjusting the focus on the corners and the midpoint of the outside edges.

And if so what are the labels for these settings in the Service menus.

I have the codes for getting into the service menus and use them frequently to set fine convergence. But I am not clear on what settings control the corner and midpoint focus.

Thanks for any suggestions.

eric.

·
Registered
28 Posts
I'm not an expert but I've doing a lot of reading of service tips in the last year. I've never heard of anything other than electrical and manual lens focusing. All use the screen center point as the focal point. I would think that if your screen is concaved that is what has to be corrected. Post the make and model of your RPTV, maybe someone has more specific info.

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The make & model is a Mitsubishi VS-4544 from 1996. 4:3 aspect with Delta 77 lenses or guns.

I did a full-on manual & electrostatic focus along with a geometry & convergence calibration which helped a little. But the way the screen hangs, I can do nothing about the concavity of the screen. The depth of the concavity is only about 1/2" MAX.

I saw a bunch of settings like : D40, D42, D50, D52 which had a range of 0 - 255 which appeared to have no effect on the screen so I left them at the default 127 value. But I hae seen alot of Front projectors with the ability to

adjust the corner & mid-edge focus so I thought my big screen may have that ability also.