AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie and have spent the past few days researching whole home a/v distribution. I am wanting someadvice before I go sit down with a local Crestron dealer.

I am wondering a little about the Prodigy system. I examined GoGo Delicious' DigitalMedia setup in an earlier thread and was wondering if something similar may be possible using the new Prodigy MD6x6? I am looking at the Prodigy line only because I assume it is cheaper that the DigitalMedia line.

I just purchased two Sony STR-DA5400ES receivers because they were selling for $899 this past week up here (Cdn MSRP was $2199 when they came out). I was thinking of using them to have 2 zones of 7.1 surround, while the other 4 zones would run off different (existing) receivers.

Here was my thought and am looking to see if it makes sense or is achievable:

Zone 1

P-MD6x6 --> HDMI --> STR-DA5400ES for 7.1

Zone 2

P-MD6x6 --> Cat5 --> RMC-100 --> HDMI --> STR-DA5400ES for 7.1

Zone 3 to 6

P-MD6x6 --> Cat5 --> RMC-100 --> HDMI --> TV -->

Audio out --> existing receivers for 5.1/stereo

Thanks in advance for taking the time to offer up some advice everybody!

·
Registered
163 Posts
There still is no date according to Crestron on release of the Prodigy HDMI switcher. No one has worked with it yet so it will be hard for people to comment on it. Oh, and there is no price listed for it yet either.

Did you have other questions regarding Prodigy?

·
Registered
163 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by russherr /forum/post/19594374

Thanks for the quick response. I guess for a comparison then....will this type of setup work with the DG 8x8 HDMI switcher? What does that item list for?

Thanks

DG? You mean DM? It depends on the cards you use. Also, you will need to go with the PMC3 processor which isn't released yet either.