AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I used to live in a dorm room with a loft... I built it with a whole bunch of 2x4's. I had raised the bed, and placed my study desk underneath. There were lot of these being used at U of Michigan. Mine cost around $50 from memory. Being a freshman engineer, I calculated the maximum loading it could take and used SF of 5... the structure could take more than 1000lbs easily.

I miss those college days.. life was simple :( :)

Anyway, it struck me the other day.. what if I built a loft, raise my NEC PG9200 projector and hang it upside down? I have to live in an apartment for at least 9 months before my new house is finished and move in. It is impossible to ceiling mount a CRT in apartment, and I can't sacrifice any more floor space.

I even thought about not having a HT for 9 months but my wife and I enjoyed our HT from our previous house so much, just the thought was unbearable.

So... using 2x4's and 4x4s, the plan is to make a loft which is about 80 inches high, 100 inches wide (3 seater sofa would snuggly fit underneath) and 30 inches deep (so my PJ won't stick out). I can put my HTPC and all other AV gears (except front speakers) all up there as well, mount rear speakers, DVD and CD shelves, and even hang few plants too. I would use Unistrut or something to mount the PJ, and hell, I'll even build integrated PJ hush box too..

2x4s are construction material, not a furniture wood so it wouldn't look too good in house, but heck, with all the space I save, I think it might be a good idea.... especially for $50 or so.

Anyone have done this? how would it look? any comment appreciated.

·
Registered
443 Posts
Can't remember the exact post, but someone in the forum did something similar with angle iron. Seems like a great idea.

Why not just mount it on top of the platform and angle the projector down? Might be easier.

·
Registered
85 Posts