AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks:

I'm a newbie to the CRT space, and having been focused on getting a new DLP projector, I'm finally coming around to the fact that I'll likely be way happier with a CRT. Image quality is of paramount importance to me, and I don't mind having to do some tweaking if need be. I'm thinking of spending about $3k, but could spend more if really needed. I'm currently using a dalite screen that's 80inches across (I believe), I have controlled lighting in the room, and can use a HTPC if my curret PC meets the demands. I'll be using the projector for DVDs only for now, but would like to pursue HDTV later on.

Could you offer any advice to me on projectors to consider?

I have been looking at either a Barco 808 or a Metrohome 8500, but then I really don't know the space, and wouldn't know a bargain (or a lemon) if I saw one. In particular I'm very keen on the couple of Metrohome 8500s that have shown up on eBay with the custom chassis:

dBay item #: 3046142146

Although, would a wear of '6' on the green bulb be worrying? Maybe I could get another 8500 and get the chassis seperately? I believe they run about $1k - the look of the projector is kind of important, but not critical. It's just that that chassis looks very very cool.

There are a few newbie questions I have and I'd be soo appreciative if I could get answers to these. Many thanks in advance for all your help. I'm sooo keen to get up and running with a CRT, but I'm hopeful of navigating the challenges with minimum hassle.

1) Can I somehow mount such a heavy projector on the ceiling of my room given that my ceiling doesn't seem to have any good structural support at the appropriate point in the ceiling?? The point would be close to the back wall of the room, but my couch would be there, so I couldn't easily do a ground-based support for the projector.