AVS Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, eagerly looked up Parts Express for the RS52 Dome Mid-range this morning and it is back ordered for the third time. I have been waiting to get this for my Zaph Center Channel Project since well into last year. I am tired of waiting.

If anyone has one of these to sell me I would be greatly appreciative.

Barring that, I have been searching for a good replacement and have been looking at the Morel EM1308 2.1" Dome Midrange. More than three times the price but at this point I am willing to pay it if it will suitably replace the RS52 in the Zaph design.

Can anyone tell me if this would be a good replacement?

I am not an expert DIY so if it is, I also need to know if this will work as well as the RS52 and if I can use the same Zaph crossover without modification (850 to 3500).

Edit - just found this - Visaton 50 mm (2") High-End fabric dome driver (G50FFL). Any experiance with this mid-range?

Thanks in advance for assistance.

Usil

·
Registered
5,642 Posts
Zaph, and any other serious designer I can think of, is not keen on people messing with his designs. Definitely not replacing drivers. Maybe you can find some in one of the various classifieds sections.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Believe me I don't want to do it. I have been waiting for over 5 months to get an RS52 and that is what I want but they just are not available. PE now has them out to March 2009 with no garantee that they will not push it out a 4th time. I don't want to wait nearly a year to finish my center channel project.

With this mid-range essentially moving out of the picture for those wanting to build this it looks like an alternative may be needed but as I said, I don't want to do this unless I have too.

Usil

·
Registered
1,693 Posts
Usil,