AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am totally new to building DIY subs. I have order Dayton Audio UM18-22 18 and iNukeNX6000D. Can anyone please guide me about the box dimensions and the internal bracing. Where i live it was pretty hard to get these alone so cannot get the box kit form parts-express :(/

·
Registered
21,336 Posts
this one would be about 4.75 cubic feet net.

if those dimensions are no good, then they can be adjusted. anything from about 3 c.f. to as large as you want to go can work with your driver and amp.

4.75 c.f. is small enough that you most likely won't be able to overdrive the um18 on the low end with too much excursion. watch your power though and no sine waves. :)

good luck with your project.

you are the second guy in pakistan that i put a cab design together for this week. his was a big marty though. :)

Attachments

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

if those dimensions are no good, then they can be adjusted. anything from about 3 c.f. to as large as you want to go can work with your driver and amp.

4.75 c.f. is small enough that you most likely won't be able to overdrive the um18 on the low end with too much excursion. watch your power though and no sine waves. :)

you are the second guy in pakistan that i put a cab design together for this week. his was a big marty though. :)
Thanks a lot .... Actually the project if for a friend of mines... i am stuck off with Klipsch spl-15... very had to get these bad boys... but will defiantly get it some day ;)

·
Registered
2,689 Posts
Thanks a lot .... Actually the project if for a friend of mines... i am stuck off with Klipsch spl-15... very had to get these bad boys... but will defiantly get it some day ;)
I just built a pair of sealed UM18s in dimensions very similar to those John provided you (a touch larger) - They pound. Your friend should be very happy with them.