1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We will start out with my hardware:

Onkyo 806 Receiver

GIGABYTE GA-X48-DQ6 motherboard

Nvidia 9800 gx2 video card (dvi x 2, hdmi outputs)

My motherboard has s/pdif out (2 pin connector) and my video card has s/pdif in (2 pin). My question is would I be able to get DTS-HD or DD+ to my receiver from my computer. I heard that bitstreaming is not possible yet from my computer without a crazy video card. Would there be some way to change the audio into something different...I read like 4 x 2 streams or something. Sorry I'm not good with all this audio lingo. I read there is a way to do it, the sound will get there in full bandwidth but the receiver wont light up with DD+ or true HD. I think it was using cyberlink powerdvd ultra or something.

What is the limiting factor which limits the bandwidth of these HD audio signals? Is it the s/pdif connector in general or is it the medium that is used to transport the signal to the receiver (optical and coax). What I plan on doing is connecting the s/pdif out on my motherboard to the s/pdif in on my video card and using hdmi to transport video and audio to the receiver. Right now im using optical but i will switch to hdmi in a few hours.

With this setup is there any way to get the HD audio to the receiver. I know the receiver probably wont have a chance to decode it but if the computer could decode it and send it to the receiver a different way where it is already processed similar to what the ps3 already has or whatever. Would I be able to do it cause hdmi has a lot more bandwidth than optical or coax. Am I out of luck with my setup or is there hope without buying that super expensive Asus card that everyone is talking about. I hope I didn't leave anything important out here with my setup. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
16,132 Posts