AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm wondering which would be better, a top of the line dvd player like the Sony 9000es or 999es (or Pioneer 47ai or denon 3800 etc...) or a HTPC with a Holo3D card and a regular computer DVD player? I'm assuming it would be a waste to have both or no? Would the Holo3D car negate the need for a High end DVD player? If so the DIGN cases look cool, but what other HTPC cases are out there? I'm very new to all this so thanks for your patience in advance.

Fulmitz

·
Registered
6,227 Posts
The most important factor is to what display device....

The HTPC is really a scaling system, if the display device has good scaling you may or may not see the need...

On the truly high end side I continually read that a well set up HTPC just allows a system to shine that little bit more, but they do take work... The H3D is not a requirement for a HTPC as you can play simply from the DVD drive via SW....

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm using a panasonic 50" HD Plasma. I was mainly wondering how the picture quality with a HTPC would be with Holo3D or with WinDVD, etc... compared to a store bought piece like a Sony 999es progressive scan DVD player on my plasma. I also like the idea of using the HTPC as a PVR. With an ATI capture card or one of the other $50 cards would you get as good of a picture as with a TiVo or ReplayTV? If not what computer card would give similar quality? Can the Holo3D card be used to record programming? Can you record off DirecTV with the Holo3D card? What about recording in HD? Thanks again,

Fulmitz

·
Registered
548 Posts
From what Ive gathered in this great forum, here are my opinions: