AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
617 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in a state of desperation here. I have new speakers and no receiver, feel the pain.... :) ;) :( :mad:

so these are the ones I've gotten it down to. Today at least. Anyway, I like the look of the pio 47tx but it's too expensive locally. I have some leads on better prices but the warranty seems a little sketchy. The 3803 is 1100$ here locally so no shipping and legit warranty. Thing is, it looks like the 47tx runs circles around the 3803, I could be wrong though and I'm very new to this stuff.

So please point out some of the important positives and negatives of each. I want the best 7.1 I can get...

thanks for your help,

Rob

·
Registered
224 Posts
I upgraded from a VSX26TX to the 3803 and love it. Wish it had the extra component input the 47TX has though. If you plan to get a plasma and hang it on the wall the 3803 would probably make the cleaner install since it'll upgrade the S-Vid/Composite input to component output. Makes it easire to switch as well.

I think the 47TX & 3803 have different sonic signatures. I'll get flamed for saying this, but my opinion is the Pioneer will sound warmer. So it probably depends on your speakers. If they're on the bright side, I'd lean towards the Elite.

Since you plan to purchase locally, find a dealer who handles both so you can A/B, hopefully with your speakers.

-RJ.

·
Registered
761 Posts