AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
2,569 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The Panny XP-30/50 and RP82 solved this a long time ago. These Denons are so overrated. It is a joke. Not to mention you pay out your arse for What? Nothing that much better video wise. Biggest scam in the DVD player arena ever.
http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/cgi-b...deInt=0&mpeg=0

·
Registered
75 Posts
ummm, i'm a newb here but isn't it dependant on what chip is used ? The older Denons and Pannys used the older Faroudja. The Denon 1600 is ranked above the RP82 I believe, both were of the same generation. There are no new Pannys that compete with the new Denons and the upcoming S97 will use the same new Faroudja chip thats in the Denons sooooo... similar problems ? It is nice to hear that Denon does work on making their players better with upgraded firmware as well as talk with Kris who makes the benchmark.

btw, yes they are expensive but people also buy them for audio as well. And no one forces you to buy Denon so whats the big deal ? Its hardly a scam, they're still quality players and super fast compared to Pannys. If you don't like it, don't buy it, simple as that. Denons get praise for a reason and not everyone is bothered by it failing a few tests. More than half the people that buy Denons don't even know of the benchmark nor care.

·
Registered
16,166 Posts
Sorry, but you must be reading the Secret's report differently than everyone else. The 3910 and 5900 are the only players without a failed test on Auto 2 (they are borderline, not failing, on chroma; they do fail 2-2 cadence on Auto 1, BUT SO DO THE PANNY'S).

·
Registered
1,659 Posts

Yet another Denon troll by HoustonGuy. Dude, you *really* need to get a hobby that doesn't involve fondling your XP30. You'll *have* to once the motor finally dies from spindle failure and gives you nothing but "H02" in return for all your unrequited love...

·
Premium Member
10,546 Posts
HoustonGuy,