AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here with little current AV knowledge. I want to come up with an AV system to handle both music (1st priority) and movies (2nd) and need some help on where to start.

BACKGROUND: I will soon have a new Panasonic 50" plasma TV (w/DirecTV) that will be going into a large, open living room (20x24' cathedral ceiling) open to an adjacent kitchen (20x14'). After lugging my old stereo around for literally decades, it's time to start fresh. I've read enough to know that HTiB is definitely not the way to go for this type of applicaton but where to start with designing a new system? I'll need (at least):

--receiver

--speaker system for music and 5.1

--DVD/CD player (5-disc capacity)

BUDGET We're ready to make a significant investment to get good solid quality sound that will last us for years.... up to, say, $2,000 if necessary. I'm not an audiophile, so I'm not necessarily looking for top-of-the-line or latest-greatest specs and features. I'm looking for a "very good" system, not a "perfect" one.

How do I start? I don't necessarily need specific component suggestions (though those are welcome too), I'm wondering things like:

--do I start by picking speakers or receiver first?

--where are the best places to get more info (without spending months researching)?

--best places to shop? etc. etc.

Informed suggestions appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
168 Posts
Wow, just about what I want to do to.

I would love to here some suggestions as well.

·
Registered
6,468 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kokopup /forum/post/0

Newbie here with little current AV knowledge. I want to come up with an AV system to handle both music (1st priority) and movies (2nd) and need some help on where to start.