AVS Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased an Onkyo TX-NR414 5.1-Channel and discovered there is no way to connect my Bose 901 speakers to it. Is there an inexpensive receiver that I can hook up the 901's to (and the dang equalizer that is the root of the problem) and connect that receiver to the NR414? My old receiver has no way to be connected to the new receiver from what I can tell. It is an old Onkyo TX-108. Would a new TX-8255 work, and if so, what would the specific hookup be? I am a novice obviously.

Thanks for any help.

·
Premium Member
90,413 Posts
Reviewing the 901 manual, it would seem the TX-8255 has the necessary Tape In/Out jacks (connecting to the "Tape 2" in/out jacks as noted in the manual) needed by the equalizer and therefore better suited for your needs.

Although you would be much better suited selling the 901 setup and using the proceeds to buy a traditional 5.1 setup if TVs/movies will make up the majority of your listening.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Is there a market for 25 year old components? What would be a good $200 - 300 speaker to replace the 901s?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I knew the TX-8255 would run the 901's. My primary question was, is there a way to connect the TX-8255 to the TX-NR414? I know the TX-NR414 can run 5.1 plus an additional zone, which would be the receiver with the 901's connected. If it is possible to do this, what connections do I make between the two receivers?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7