AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am such a total newbie to HT-PC integration, it's not even funny, Being such, I don't even know how to search the forum for the answers I need, because I'm not sure of the questions.

Here's what I want to do:

I have a Soundblaster Audigy Soundcard with a "Digital Out". I think this is called SPD/IF. The output on the soundcard is colored orange, and appears to be standard 1/8" headphone jack sized.

I want to send this output to one of my Onkyo TXDS898's Digital Coax or TOSLINK inputs. In theory, this will get me 5.1 output from my soundcard.

But, because of the difference in size and shape of the Soundcard's Output and my Receiver's input, I can't just make the connection.

What do I need in order to facilitate this? Have I made bad assumptions?

Yes, my soundcard can do 5.1. At least I'm pretty sure it can.

I'm not using my PC as a part of my HT just yet. Right now, I'm using it mainly for family computing and games on my Sammy 61" DLP. I'd just like to get digital sound if I can.

·
Registered
210 Posts
There are two types of digital connections for home audio. People throw the terms around in very confusing manners.

COAX is usually a round RCA adaptor. Your sound card just uses a sub-mini connector. A simple adaptor from Radio Shack would do the trick.

OPTICAL is a rectangular plug.

The general consensus is that COAX is better, because the signal doesn't get converted 2 extra times between the computer and the sound card. OPTICAL allows for electrical isolation from the PC to the receiver. This means your computer can't send a surge to the receiver that will damage it.

You can get adaptors that will convert COAX and OPTICAL outside of the PC, but what you might want to consider is a new sound card.

The Creative cards only put out CD audio sound upsampled to 48K.