AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If this is not the best forum for this question, please direct me to the right place. I am a digital video/high def novice. I have cable TV with some analog channels and some clear QAM channels. I do not have a set-top box or decoder of any kind. I am looking for a digital video recorder. I ordered a Tivo recorder and when I received it was astounded to find that it will not allow me to record the clear QAM channels.

What I would really like is stand alone DVR (no program guide service) that provides the ability to record both the analog and clear QAM channels. Put another way, I would like a DVR that gives me the same features that my Hauppauge HVR-1600 card with WinTV 7 gives me in my PC. Does such a device exist? If so can anyone point me to some reviews, recommended models or other information. Thanks.

·
Registered
9,938 Posts
Which TiVo is this? Model?

I'm very surprised it doesn't record clear QAM. Did you run a scan?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Tulpa: I can view the clear QAM channels on the Tivo box and, to be completely accurate, you can record them manually by pressing the record button at the time the show starts and manually pressing the stop button when the show ends but I do not consider that "recording". Recording to me is being able to set the box to start recording at a specified time and stop recording at a specified time and there is no way to do that with clear QAM channels on Tivo unless I buy a cable card from my cable company and that requires that I sign up for their encrypted digital and high def services which would add almost $60 per month to my bill. The problem is that a Tivo box has no way to set up a recording operation for a channel that is not in the Tivo program guide and none of the clear QAM channels are in the guide.

·
Registered
9,938 Posts
Ah, I see.