AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently hooked my Dreamcast up through my PV-HS 2000 (RCA inputs on back). Upon trying to play I noticed a significant delay between the depression of a game controller button and the response on the screen. I suspect it's b/c the PV-HS 2000 is trying to buffer the videogame the same way that it would the regular television signal


Is there a way to disable buffering for a particular input (Line 1) or even to just disable it in general (I don't use that feature very often).?


The TV I'm using doesn't have RCA inputs in the back or I would just plug the DC straight in there. Surely someone else has had a similiar problem!


Thanks a lot.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
979 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by manny_calavera
I recently hooked my Dreamcast up through my PV-HS 2000 (RCA inputs on back). Upon trying to play I noticed a significant delay between the depression of a game controller button and the response on the screen. I suspect it's b/c the PV-HS 2000 is trying to buffer the videogame the same way that it would the regular television signal
Correct.

Quote:
Is there a way to disable buffering for a particular input (Line 1) or even to just disable it in general (I don't use that feature very often).?
Nope.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I should be able to use one of these:
http://www.pricegrabber.com/search_g...296421cd59267/

in between the PV-HS 2000 and the TV, though, right?


The only problem with that solution is that the sound will only be sent to the TV.


Does anyone know of a way to split the DC sound down to a stereo receiver (via RCA) without the use of RCA output jacks on the back of the TV and while using the RF adapter for video into the TV?


Sorry if this is confusing...I'd really like to try to get it figured out if it's possible.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,612 Posts
Manny, If your TV has a second line input you could hook your Dreamcast up there. Otherwise you can to eliminate the hassle of connecting and disconnecting AV cables by using a switchbox like this http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...5Fid=15%2D1976 to easily switch between replay and Dreamcast.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I'll have to play around with it and do some thinking. The biggest problem is that the TV's ONLY source of input is coax and it has NO output whatsoever. I'm also trying to get sound down to the receiver from about a billion different places as well. You should see the mess! Thanks for your help guys.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,612 Posts
Manny, I see the problem now. You can do it but its awkward. Radio shack has the AV to RF box http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...5Fid=15%2D1244 which will get the sound and picture through the coaxial and play on the tv. To switch between two AV sources I.E. replay and Dreamcast you can either manually connect the AV wires to the AV to RF box or use an AV switch like I posted earlier.




To send sound to the stereo you could use "Y" connectors http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...5Fid=274%2D881 to split the AV audio connection at the AV to RF box.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I'm have an extra 17" computer monitor so I'm just going to buy a VGA adapter and go that route. It'll look better anyway. It'll also solve the sound problem b/c I can split it out of the adapter to RCA and right on into my receiver. Oh yeah. Best of all, it's only going to cost me $15-20. Thanks for the suggestions guys.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top