AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it true that when the Dish 6000 receiver is in SD mode the output from the receiver is from composite/S-video only and that in HD it is out component video only? If so, can someone make sense of this this to me? On my TV(Mits 73411) this takes up 2 inputs instead of one. Seems a waste.

Along those same lines- I am new to this whole HDTV game. How do I know when I have a true OTA HD signal coming in. Do I have to know the TV schedule? Or is it pretty obvious? (I have seen the SD digital locals, but have not seen a show in HD yet)

Lastly- Can someone explain the screen format thing;16:9? Whenever viewing standard dish signals there are gray bars on either side of the screen, so I put the TV in stretch mode. When receiving SD and HD signals will it automatically be in 16:9 aspect ratio?

·
Registered
2,082 Posts
Yes, the 600 will only output an HD signal or an SD signal, not both at the same time. The 6000 will upconvert the SD channels to and HD signal that you can veiw on your monitors HD input if you would like to not need to change inputs. IT does an OK job, better than some TV's internal circuits but worse than other TV's.

It does help to know the schedule but usually, you can tell if there is a true HD signal. Sometimes, the transfer is not that clear and it is hard to tell. Once you have seen more real HDTV it will be easier to notice the differences.

I'm not totally sure how the 6000 handles the stretching since I use it 99% for HD only. I'm pretty sure it will switch between from the stretch mode to non-stretch when changing to HD from SD but I'm not sure of the correct settings for it.

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply, Lee.