AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just hooked up my dish 6000 box last night. I currently have a dish 500 setup with 2 other recievers. My 2nd dish antenna gets installed next week. Until then, I'm using the 6000 as a regular(?) dish reciever with the 8vsb installed and a Silver Sensor antenna (with rat shack powered amp) for the indoor OTA HD antenna.

I really expected the 6000 manual to give me more technical info than it does. As such, since I'm new to the 6000, I have a few questions I'm hoping folks out there can answer?

Where is the best source of on-line info for the dish 6000 box? (besides this forum)

Is there a technical manual of any kind on line somewhere?

When using the box in HD mode, I get no sound through my home theater setup. Sound works great in sd mode, so I'm pretty sure my audio connections are right. Is there some menu setting or switch that I failed to set?

What are the sub channel, channels? e.g. if one of my HD OTA stations is channel 20, I see 20-01 and 20-02 in the display. At least in my limited use last night, only one of the subchannels has anything displaying on it.

The picture in SD mode looks better than the picture I got from my old reciever (a 4700). Does the 6000 up-convert the displayed SD signal to some higher level than the other dish network recievers?

Are there any tips, tricks, gotcha's, etc that would be good to know?

The OTA antenna (Silver Sensor) got no useable signal without the Radio Shack powered amp. With the amp, I am able to get 2 of the 4 or 5 available OTA HD signals. Does anyone know of a better indoor antenna setup? Yes, I could maybe do a standard UHF antenna in the attic of the nextdoor unit (i dont have an attic), but would rather avoid that if at all possible. An outdoor UHF antenna is not an option.

Thanks in advance for any answers to the above.

[This message has been edited by cab (edited 10-12-2001).]

·