AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
762 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am a newbie wanting to go HD but my building's cable company RCN is in bankrupcy and does not even offer it in Chicago. So, my only option is a dish.

My condo has a good sized terrace on which I could install a D* dish. But, the terrace is cut into the side of the building and the view in all four directions is impeded. On the north and east sides it is faced by high rise buidings, on the south and west sides it is faced by the walls of the building. I can only orient a dish straight up with a 20-30 degree angle N-S and E-W to point to.

I have always heard that you must orient a dish to the south or southwest. Yesterday an installer said it could face any direction. That was news to me. If he's right, my next question is whether that must be an unobstructed view - like the entire eastern sky or the entire western sky. Can you get quality reception with the narrow slice that I have?

Wayne

·
Registered
456 Posts
That installer is full of it. The dish must point to a VERY specific place in the sky. You'll need to be able to see the south-southwest. Basically you have to aim toward Texas.

·
Registered
762 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Maharg,

Thanks for your replies. By this I take it you mean 'above the equator' not 'north of the equator'? If it were far enough north of the equator we'd have to point north to see it. Also, why south and west not south or south and east?

Wayne

·
Registered
456 Posts
Yes, I mean if you are at the equator you would look basically straight up to see them. There are satellites to the south east as well, such as Voom at 61.5 degrees west longitude, but the main Directv satellites are at 101, 110, and 119 degrees west longitude, which are more toward the south-southwest. Those slots are rated as being full CONUS (Continental US) which means all 48 contiguous states can see them.