AVS Forum banner
  • If you've ever wanted to ask questions on industry standards when setting up your home theater, you're in luck! Peter Aylett, 30 year integrator and partner at HTE Acoustic Interior Design will be answering questions until Sun. Nov. 28th! The thread is now open, and you can join in here!
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first post here,

I have a 4504 that I have been using for a couple of months, mainly with the help of this forum's FAQ's and members. Thanks

I got a Mitsubishi WS55511 last week that works great on all inputs, except the Replay. The replay using either S-Video or AV cables has terrible artifacts all over the screen. It is just driving me nuts.

Anyone know of this problem, and possibly a way around it??

thanks

jon

·
Registered
2,584 Posts
As you probably know, replay (or any PVR for that matter) compresses the signal in mpegs in order to record it. With a large tv, you can't get away with recording at low quality -- you'll need to use at least medium and perhaps even high (my replay 4xxx looks ok on my 50" plasma at medium but miserable at low quality).

If it still sucks at high quality, note that the mpeg chip in the 5xxx units are significantly better than those in the 4xxx units, so you might consider seeing if you can find a 5xxx owner to swap with (the 5xxx have better PQ but you have to balance that by the fact that they are somewhat flakier).

·
Registered
2,136 Posts
In addition to the problems of compression introduced by the ReplayTV, that television handles composite/S-Video input pretty badly. If you can, use the component output of the ReplayTV (you may need a VGA breakout cable for that model ReplayTV), set to YPrPb (not VGA) which will feed a 480p signal to your TV. The TV does a MUCH better job with a progressive component input than composite or S-Video.