AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to soon have 2 18in subwoofers up front on my setup and am worried (know) it may be time to upgrade my center channel at least (or start there). I am just getting into this so no laughs please and all have been had at 1/4 or less normal price so. I now have DCM 10a's on L/R and the matching center not sure on model number but has two 6-1/2's and a tweeter. Stereo integrity SI18's in each front corner. Side surround I have klipsch F3's and back surrounds are klipsch sf-1's. I was thinking of moving DCM's out to the man cave and moving F3's up to front and sf1's to side surround and can pick up some RS-35's for $150 for the back surrounds. So I would need a new center, really don't have the money for a $1000 center but want the best thing I can get or build for $300 or less. This is mostly for cosmetic reasons as the DCM's are shorter than the sub boxes and the klipschs are skinnier for room sake. But regardless the center is my week point so any DIY kits that would match F3's with grill off or any amazing ones out there? I have looked for just the matching drivers for RC-64's and can't really find anything. Best bang for the buck or what would never need a upgrade?

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Think that is enough? I went and listened to a Kc-25 today and was not impressed. And it has better specs.

·
Banned
3,677 Posts
What about a Fusion-8 Alchemy MTM? Or perhaps the horizontal Tux-1099? Either of those would give similar sensitivity as the Klipsch, and use a waveguide for the high frequency driver which would sound more similar to the Klipsch than a typical dome tweeter. Plus I would venture to say that for under $400 or so in total cost you could best the RC-64!

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·