AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Registered
1,699 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to replace my front three speakers.

I currently have three Paradigm LCR-450's. MTM small sealed box. They are over 10 years old. My surrounds/rear are Definitive UIW Reference RCS II in ceiling speakers.

They are a very interesting passive radiator design. They sound great, not what you would expect from an in ceiling speaker.

http://www.definitivetech.com/Produc...UIW%20RCS%20II

I'd like to go to full size mains and a "standard" center. I'd like to cross them over in the 60-70hz range.

My room is small 1700 cubic feet and I can not get the speakers very far from the walls. My sub is a Danley DTS-10, I am considering adding a second soon.

If I was thinking of buying speakers today I would look at Salk Song Towers and a Song center. That is in the $2700 range.

With the right design I would spend $2,000 on components.

I am a professional cabinetmaker so the cabinets are no problem and complexity of the woodworking is no problem.

I have looked at kits and different builds and they tend to be radical or budget. I want neither. I want great sound, a fun build and a proven design.

A little help?

·
Registered
26,476 Posts
If you have the Dynamics with the DTS-10, I would recommend you match those dynamics with horn or waveguide mains. Its the only way to match the dynamics of the DTS-10.

Are you interested in that type of build?

·
Registered
1,699 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by penngray /forum/post/18202694

If you have the Dynamics with the DTS-10, I would recommend you match those dynamics with horn or waveguide mains. Its the only way to match the dynamics of the DTS-10.

Are you interested in that type of build?

The speakers have to be aesthetically pleasing. I can not visualize what those designs looks like but I am not opposed to it.

Here is the front of the theater, so can see my space is limited.

·
Registered