AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to control my bluray-HD.DVD-AVR-Projector all which have serial ports. I have actually done this individually, but want to do more control but have no idea what is available except the Extron Ip link stuff.


What is available that is non-pro installed? What do you guys use? I have the software already which will send the codes.


IS there something inexpensive?


Clay
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by petern /forum/post/19599809


Global Cache GC-100 and iTach products. What software are you planning to use?

Currently I use Home Control Assistant which supports UPB very well.


Charmed Quark and Homeseer are on the radar.


Clay
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,089 Posts
Elve might be another platform to consider.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by petern /forum/post/19599809


Global Cache GC-100 and iTach products. What software are you planning to use?

Based on what I'm reading these only have 2 serial ports. I need 3 at an absolute minimum, and would like 5 or 6 available. Maybe I need to stack them which would get cumbersome.


There website has sparse information, but the pricing is attractive.


Clay
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,186 Posts
I used a cheap 8 port serial board with an octopus cable I purchased from Newegg. I don't find the exact one, but it is similar to this one. I only paid $32 for it. You could also try Amazon.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815317013


The software is Elve which is available free during it's beta period, then will be $99 for the introductory period.

http://codecoretechnologies.com/content/MainPage.ashx


I haven't had a single misfire or glitch since putting this package together.


Deane
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,089 Posts
You could use a networked serial server. A Quatech brand has been discussed extensively in a couple cocoontech.com forum threads.
http://www.cocoontech.com/forums/ind...dpost&p=130220


Or if the controller is local, a Digi Edgeport expander might be useful.


I use a 2 port Edgeport USB-serial adapter on my rack PC to communicate with my Nuvo distributed audio system, and will be using it for RA2 programming.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deane Johnson
I used a cheap 8 port serial board with an octopus cable I purchased from Newegg. I don't find the exact one, but it is similar to this one. I only paid $32 for it. You could also try Amazon.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16815317013


The software is Elve which is available free during it's beta period, then will be $99 for the introductory period.

http://codecoretechnologies.com/content/MainPage.ashx


I haven't had a single misfire or glitch since putting this package together.


Deane
That Elve software looks interesting, but the serial card won't work as my PC is about 30 feet and one floor away from my equipment rack.


Clay
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurorad
You could use a networked serial server. A Quatech brand has been discussed extensively in a couple cocoontech.com forum threads.
http://www.cocoontech.com/forums/ind...dpost&p=130220


Or if the controller is local, a Digi Edgeport expander might be useful.


I use a 2 port Edgeport USB-serial adapter on my rack PC to communicate with my Nuvo distributed audio system, and will be using it for RA2 programming.
If I had a rack mount PC I could add the octopus as mentioned by Deane, and I'd be set.

I may think about this as well.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,089 Posts
I think serial control cables can be much, much longer than 30 feet.


Spend some time on the Elve forum, or search at cocoontech.com.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurorad
I think serial control cables can be much, much longer than 30 feet.
This is true. I have one now, but I don't want to run 5 or more though the floor or walls. This is why I was looking for a router/control box.

I think coccoontech is my new favorite forum!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,186 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by poolboyclay
That Elve software looks interesting, but the serial card won't work as my PC is about 30 feet and one floor away from my equipment rack.


Clay
So that it's clear, Elve and the serial card are separate items and one doesn't depend on the other. That just happens to be the software I am using.


You're right, it is interesting. Very robust and easy to learn to use.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,089 Posts
Running 5-6 ethernet cables maybe the easiest, and cheapest.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurorad /forum/post/19608371


Running 5-6 ethernet cables maybe the easiest, and cheapest.

Easiest and cheapest for sure. Not acceptable in this situation.


I assume you mean ethernet cable terminated in serial connectors. Which means technically I would only need 2 or 3 as they have 8 wires each. If you meant true ethernet I would only need 1 which is already there.


I am going to continue to look at serial routers.


Clay
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Purchased two serial gateways/servers on ebay for 20 buck


Digi ts8 models.


Realport software.


will see how this works.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,186 Posts
Another possibility is the Global Cache GC-100. It connects to your network, and provides several serial ports at a remote location. My son, living in another city, uses one to get serial connections on his HA three floors away from the server.


I don't have one, but wish I did. Those using it seem very happy with the results.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deane Johnson /forum/post/19696294


Another possibility is the Global Cache GC-100. It connects to your network, and provides several serial ports at a remote location. My son, living in another city, uses one to get serial connections on his HA three floors away from the server.


I don't have one, but wish I did. Those using it seem very happy with the results.

This was the direction I started in, but there's only two serial ports.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
115 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by poolboyclay /forum/post/19676071


Purchased two serial gateways/servers on ebay for 20 buck


Digi ts8 models.


Realport software.


will see how this works.

How did this work out for you? Just curious.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
The two I bought first were dead. I bought a ts16 which works wonderfully.


It's as if the serial ports were directly connected! I love it.


Clay
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
115 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by poolboyclay /forum/post/19851700


The two I bought first were dead. I bought a ts16 which works wonderfully.


It's as if the serial ports were directly connected! I love it.


Clay

Curious as to what kinds of devices you've got hooked up to this and what connection methods you're using. I too picked up a TS16 and have got it up and running, just not sure where to go next. Honestly haven't had time to play with it....


I'm looking to control an Extron matrix switch and a Nuvo audio system this way, with an iPad running the iRule remote app.
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Top