AVS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, another newbie to home audio.

Ok, I've been floating around here for awhile know and its time to start the process to having real bass. I have no experience other than what I have been able to pick up on this forum and read on a few other sites that people have put links too. I am starting to get some of the basics concepts, port velocity, X-mas, Re, etc. but do not know what is good vs not good and why. The graphs are also just nice picture to me. Need to start playing around with one of the modeling softwares. Please be patient if I ask some very basic questions through this process because I do desire to learn and not just build. I do have pretty good woodworking skills and have been building furniture (hobby only) for six years know. I also, have a full workshop so access to tools is not a problem.

I am looking for a ported subwoofer that is 100% HT. It will go into a basement that is approx 25ft x 25ft with 8 ft ceilings in half the area and 7 ft ceilings in the other half. The 7 ft section runs down the middle of the room and perpendicular to the view screen. Foundation is poured concrete. The walls are 2x4 construction that are very well insulated and covered with dry wall. No wall treatments in the room.