AVS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys
I'm relatively new to sound systems so I'm hoping you guys can help me out. I want to build a sub myself because apart from it being a fun experience the quality for the price will probably be much better. I like a lot of bass so subs are a must. I was hoping to do an 18 or 21 inch. What parts am I going to need?

How much do you want to spend or what is your budget for this build? Around $200 possibly a little over if needed.

Will this be used primarily for HT or music? 90% Music

And what is the biggest size cabinet you want to build? Whatever I need as long as it fits through the door.

Thanks!

·
Registered
4,646 Posts
18 or 21", wood, AND an amp for $200?

May have to temper expectation at ~200, could do a 12(or2)/15/wood/amp for that cost, but even then the power will be more limited.

·
Registered
3,043 Posts
The amp alone to drive an 18/21" will set you back more than $200. Most drivers in that size range are more than that as well.

See http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-diy-speakers-subs/1648673-martysub-faq.html for ideas and rundown on the items needed to build a sub. 2 of the Martycubes would cost somewhere around $800 to build, including amp.

EDIT: Just noticed mainly for music, you might get away with sealed depending on what you listen to/how loud/room specs which would be a little less than the Martys, but still not in your $200 range.

·
Registered
514 Posts
Welcome to AVS!
But as a suggestion before starting a new thread - spend some time reading, there is rarely anything new here since so much has been asked and covered already. (the new talk is theory, components and builds beyond the $200 price point)

Just a few hours back, the $150 question gets bumped to $200, but not for an 18" or 21".

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-diy-speakers-subs/1953281-diy-sub-100-150-a.html

Another recent one: F20 if you have tools and working skills.