AVS Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I'm a french student thinking a lot about having a kind of "take away" 3D system for entertainment purpose. I kept reading forums for three months, and i finally decided to write a new thread here because I would need some advices :)

First of all, I never built anything concerning 3D (learnt everything from internet), but I know about audio-visual engineering.

Here what I aim:

1)This would be for an artistic project, I'm not thinking about videogaming/movies. I'd like to have a technical solution i could bring here and there.

2)Since I would probably never get back the glasses, they need to be cheap. So I'm thinking about passive 3D.

3)Because it's not for a pure "home quality" gaming nor home theater, quality has not to be 100% (at least for now ;) ).

4)I'm still a student so money is important here! I'm not saying I want the cheapest system, but I will go through "test phases" and purchase one item at a time. So I would like to avoid useless buys.

And here are my concerns (mainly for the silver screen):

1) I thought about having 3D paint and sprayt it over some Expanded PVC tiles so i could easily transport them. But, would paint be efficient in this way ? Would it work on these tiles ?

2) If I directly use sanded aluminium tiles as "screen", would it be efficient ?

3) Thinking of having some aluminium foil to create some effects and texture, would it ruin the 3D process or would it be just "not perfect 3D"? For example having a tiny aluminium square in the middle of the screen

Am I dreaming too hard or could I definitly do something here ? :D

Thanks !

·
Registered
2,584 Posts