AVS Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So a quick thread documenting my volt 10 lx build. I built 2 cabinets to be a L/R in my living room. I have a volt V6 for my center (TV over the fireplace, low WAF already.... couldn't get a big speaker there), and volt v6 surrounds. I have been a point source /phase coherent source convert for quite a while now. I am a production manager for theaters/performance complex's in real life, and we put Danley products into a 650 seat theater I ran about 8 years ago. As there is no way I am ever going to afford Danley products in my real life, a good coaxial seems to be the next best thing.

So, on to the build. I elected to build a 1.35 cubic foot enclosure with a slot port tuned to 50 hz. I took some snow days to work in the scene shop at work. I built enclosures using left over 3/4 ply we had kicking around the shop.

I took the stock front baffles from Erich and removed the round overs

Pushed through my cut list, realizing that some of our blades need sharpening...

And started my glue/clamp action. Baffle and port top first. Everything is glued with titebond and then nailed with a brad nailer. A long time ago, I was taught that mechanical fasteners exist to hold things in place until glue cures....

Add the top of the cabinet second

Learning to be careful to hold that brad nailer square...

After the top, and baffle, and port slot top, I added one side for some rigidity

Some registration lines to make sure I secured the port slot top correctly

I added the back and bottom, and then flipped to do the other side... this is probably a good time to note a math or measuring error, y side panels are a bit taller than needed, but it was no problem to trim when done...

So the raw cabinet is all together, they always look so much bigger in person than on paper. At this point I am seriously concerned about my wife's acceptance of these.