AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm totally new to projectors. Would any experts please advise me as whats the best bang for the buck projector on the market now and the screen to go with it for a 13x15 room? Are the Sharp 9000 easy to setup and suitable for beginners? How does the picture quality of a DLP projector compare to my Panasonic 34 widescreen HDTV for watching mostly DVDs? Do I need to hire any experts to calibrate or install all the hardware?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
17,711 Posts
Aron, I don't think anyone can say what is the best bang for the buck, for the simple reason that we all bought different projectors because what was important for us (Bang) was different. The best advice that can be given is to go and look at the image coming from the projector and looking if it has the features you need.

·
Registered
1,159 Posts
Best bang for the buck in what price range?

·
Registered
1,363 Posts
Aron - hope this is udeful - I'm no expert :) :

Each of your quastions has good coverage on this forum.

Would any experts please advise me as whats the best bang for the buck projector on the market now and the screen to go with it for a 13x15 room?

An impossible question as there are those who will tell you that an $12k PJ like the Marantz S2 is better bang for the buck than the $5k Infocus 5700. You have to see them. As for screen size, that's a whoe different subject. There are several recent threads with 4:3 and 16;9 advocates both making good points.

Are the Sharp 9000 easy to setup and suitable for beginners?

generally, modern digital PJs are easy to get to 90% performance within a few minutes. Extracting that next bit is more challenging and may involve help from this forum or external help.

How does the picture quality of a DLP projector compare to my Panasonic 34 widescreen HDTV for watching mostly DVDs?