AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a question for you folks. I'm in the decision phase of my DLP projector purchase. I'm not normally a DIY, but my home theater costs are getting out of control and I need to save some money!!!! :)

Understanding the issue surrounding warranties, etc. from an online purchase, my question is about projector setup and configuration. I've never owned a front projector before and am wondering if it really is possible to configure these babies on your own or is it pretty much necessary to have a professional do it? I mean can you pop in one of the DVD's such as AVIA's Guide to Home Theater, or Sound & Vision's Home Theater Tune-Up and successfully pull off a projector setup? Obviously I'm a newbie so stop laughing. I really don't know. Also, do the manuals that come with these projectors give enough information to set them up correctly?

Inquiring minds (and this newbie) wanna know!

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
PS - I forgot to mention that I'm considering either the HT300 or the new DWIN Transvision 2, if that's helpful info.

·
Registered
976 Posts
Heres what I was told by a dealer and I beleive him somewhat. He told me when you get a projector you can definately make it better looking than what it was when it came out of the box, but will it ever be perfect? Probably not. Its expensive to have an ISF guy come and tweak your projector though.. I was quoted between 500-1000..

Chris

·
Registered
156 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by xris2o0o
I was quoted between 500-1000..

Chris
That is insane! Fortunitly for me, one of my neighbors works for InFocus and when I get a projector, I am hoping he has the knowledge to help me out. :p

·
Registered
2,766 Posts