AVS Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a HDTV newb, but have been doing research for a long time on Plasmas and LCDs, but I know little about DLPs or SXRDs.

I bought a 42" Westinghouse LVM-42W2 1080P LCD TV/Monitor recently but am disappointed as it has vertical banding (uneven backlighting) that is noticeable in dark scenes, as well as motion blur with certain content, and the contrast ratio for dark scenes (black levels?) is less than impressive. Also SD content looked pretty poor.

I watch roughly 100 hours of TV a week, as well as play video games, and watch DVD movies (not HD-DVD or Blu-ray). Of the TV I watch, I'd say 65% is SD content and 35% HD content. When watching SD content, I prefer to have the vertical bars on the sides of the screen so the image is not distorted. I watch a lot of football and hockey, where a logo or score is always displayed somewhere on the screen for the 3 or so hours the game lasts. I also play video games where a health bar or HUD is situated in a constant area of the screen for the duration of the gaming session, which are usually no longer than 1-2 hours, but on rare occasions can reach around 4-5 hours.

Because of what I watch and play, Plasmas seem like the wrong choice as I'd constantly be worried about burn-in or image retention, which is why I went the LCD route initially. However, LCDs suffer from uneven backlighting and blurring.

So with all that being said:

1. It is my understanding that DLPs and SXRDs do not suffer from any of those problems (image retention, burn-in, uneven backlighting, or blurring), is that correct?

2. What problems do DLPs or SXRDs have? I've heard about the rainbow effect and screen door effect on DLPs, are these just a fact of life for DLP owners, do all models have this, how prevalent are these issues? What else do I need to be on the lookout for? I've only recently heard of SXRDs, so I have know idea what problems they have.