AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
how much should i worry about getting a tv set with the geometry misadjusted? the reason i ask is because i bought a 36hs510 and the geometry is all out of whack! i tried to adjust it through the service menu, but since i am new at this i think its too hard - you fix one side the other gets messed up. my parents have a 36xbr(?) and the geometry is also not right (the only difference is they don't care). i will be returning this set, but, what if the new set is also a geomess? is sony known for this problem?

mjc

·
Registered
1,235 Posts
It seems to be an industry-wide fact, that ALL tv's need to be calibrated after purchse.

·
Banned
3,539 Posts
All the bigger (>27") CRT sets are never setup perfectly at the factory from my observation. To do it right you have to do it yourself I guess. I invested in an AVIA DVD for all the geometry and overscan test patterns and spent hours adjusting it in the service menu for each of the inputs and modes until I was satisfied. For HD mode, I had to wing it with broadcast material since there is no HD test pattern geneator cheaply available.

·
Registered
280 Posts