AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Banned
1,838 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im in the Madison Wisconsin area (west side) and I just picked up the incredibly hard to find samsung DTB-H260F OTA receiver, I purhased an indoor/outdoor antenna from radio shack seems to work well but im going to get the one the reviews really like which is the 15-1880 amplified antenna, Ive been reading about a "preamp" what does this do in this situation and will It benefit me to put one in this setup? also does anyone locally know what stations I should be getting for both hd and analog stations, like I said im a total novice when it comes to this stuff so I could definately use the help

·
Registered
3,738 Posts
I think a pre-amp is basically useful in three situations:

1. You have a long run of coaxial cable (50+ feet) between the antenna and the receiver, in which case putting a pre-amp at the antenna overcomes the signal loss in the cable.

2. You want to split the signal in order to feed more than one device. A two-way splitter gives you half the original signal in each branch, minus a bit more for "insertion loss", for a total loss of about 3.5 dB. A four-way splitter gives you 1/4 the original signal, minus the insertion loss, for a total loss of about 7 dB. A pre-amp overcomes this loss.

3. You have a weak signal (from a distant or low-power station) which gives you a low signal/noise ratio, the noise being introduced by the input stage of the receiver. If you amplify the signal enough, the "noise" part of the signal/noise ratio becomes the noise introduced by the amplifier. If the amplifier's "noise figure" is significantly lower than that of the receiver, you thereby increase the signal/noise ratio, which makes it easier for the receiver to decode the signal.