AVS Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,421 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by crutschow /forum/post/15466288


Monoprice does not have a 25ft., 24 gauge cable rated for 1.3a, category 2. If you want that you can get their 22 gauge cable http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2 . It's a rather stiff cable so you may want to add short connector saver cables at each end such as http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Thanks! I was originally going to get the 22 AWG cable but now it's out of stock and ETA is way out to Jan. 20. I need a 25' HDMI in the coming week as I'll be setting up the new plasma. I was wondering if I should just go with the 24 AWG non-HDMI 1.3a rated cable as it will only be for 1080p video signals from the AVR to the display. What does 1.3a include?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
HDMI devices are manufactured to adhere to various versions of the industry specification, where each version is given a number such as 1.0, 1.2, or 1.3. Each subsequent version of the specification uses the same kind of cable but increases the bandwidth and/or capabilities of what can be transmitted over the cable.


Hdmi 1.3 added the ability for DeepColor, TrueHD and Master HD audio formats. The only difference between HDMI 1.3a and 1.3b is that 1.3b implemented stricter compliance standards for the manufacturers. If you have no DeepColor or Master HD audio sources (and if you're not sure if you do then you probably don't), then the expense of 1.3b cables may not be worth it right now. You may see cables say they are HDMI 1.3b certified. All that means is that they have undergone the 1.3b testing standards.


For example the previous maximum pixel clock rate of HDMI interface was 165 MHz which was sufficient for supporting 1080p at 60 Hz and WUXGA (1920x1200) at 60 Hz. HDMI 1.3 increased that to 340 MHz which allows for higher resolution, such as WQXGA (2560x1600), across a single digital line. An HDMI connection can either be single link (Type A/C) or dual link (Type B) and can have a video pixel rate of 25 MHz to 340 MHz for a single link connection or 25 MHz to 680 MHz for a dual link connection.


For consumers, there is no difference between HDMI version 1.3 and 1.3a or 1.3b. These minor revisions to the specification typically relate to manufacturing or testing issues and do not impact features or functionality. In addition, HDMI Licensing, LLC is actively working with manufacturers to reduce confusion for consumers by de-emphasizing version numbers and focusing instead on product features and functionality.


Focus more on getting Category 2 Certified cable as this will better ensure that more data will arrive across longer (greater than 5m) distances and your TV will have to do less correction giving you a clearer picture. The Category 2 grade transfers data up to 10.2 Gbps . . . plenty fast for true 1080p.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
This thread kind of gets into what I am trying to get answered, so I will add my question here. I too, am curious as to which HDMI cable I really need. I purchased my first HDMI cable about two years ago from Monoprice and that cable is currently in the wall behind my TV and is working just fine. It is a HDMI to HDMI Cable (24AWG) w/ net jacket-10ft (Gold Plated) (N). I bought it back in 2006 so I am sure it is outdated and I need a new one. I recently ordered a new 52" Samsung LCD (LN52A650) which has the 120Hz capabilities. I have my HD cable boxed hooked into a Panasonic Receiver via a newer HDMI 1.3 cable and then from the receiver to the TV the older HDMI cable that I mentioned earlier. Do I need to upgrade that HDMI cable to a 1.3 in order to take advantage of the 120Hz? The TV has not come in yet so I am just trying to get a feel for what I need to upgrade if anything.


On a different note, I want to eventually upgrade my receiver as well to one that has at least 3 or 4 HDMI inputs. Any recommendations on which reciever to get that will help give me a great picture and sound without breaking my bank too much?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
I'm quoting namechamps from another thread on this one:

1) There is no such thing as 120Hz rated cables.


2) Even if there was your HDTV only accepts 24p & 60p over HDMI. While it displays at 120Hz it still only accepts a 24Hz or 60Hz signal. There are no consumer grade HDTV with a 120p input. Period.


3) Even if there were 120Hz cables (there aren't) and your HDTV accepted 120p input (it doesn't) no BD player has 120Hz (120p) output. Since content on the disc is 24p there is no reason to output it as 120p. It is output as 24p (using less bandwidth than 60p) and your HDTV applies a 5:5 pulldown to 120Hz.


Someday there may be sources (PS4, xbox 720) with an 120Hz output and someday there may be HDTV with 120p input but even those would just need an HDMI cable.



So to answer your question, you may be okay with what you have as long as it's HDMI 1.3 certified. According to Wikipedia the HDMI 1.3 specification was released on June 22, 2006 and increased the single-link bandwidth to 340 MHz (10.2 Gbit/s) which allows for DeepColor (up to 48-bit) so you may be in the clear here. If you're not sure then an upgrade with a 10' cable that would set you back about $11 after shipping may be warranted. At such a short length (anything under 30') you wouldn't even need the premium grade, just as long as it's Category 2 you'll be all but gauranteed that you're getting the best possible picture your particular components can deliver. The HDMI 1.3 specification defined cable Categories 1 and 2 with Category 1 cable being tested up to 74.25 MHz and Category 2 cable being tested up to 340 MHz.


By the way I'm coveting your LN52A650 . . . it's the TV I've got my eye on to replace my LG3750 and bump it to the bedroom.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Thanks for the quick reply and the advice. According to the handy "My Account" link on the Monoprice site I was able to see the exact date that I ordered that last 10' HDMI cable from them and it says that I got it in July of 2006. So, maybe I am good for now. I am not worried about spend a few extra $$ to grab another more up-to-date cable. What I am dreading is having to fish that thing down eh wall again. It is a pain in the but to have to do that with all of the cabled I have stuffed back there.


I can not wait to get the 650 home and give it a test drive. Only wish I could have it here for tonight's BCS champ game.

Thanks again!

Tim
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
Does Monoprice not show you what you bought? Maybe a description that you can help gauge what you have?


Yeah to watch Florida pwn the Sooners tonight in 1080p would be a treat!


Go Hogs!

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
405 Posts
To the OP,


If it makes you feel any better, I just bought the exact cable you linked to at the top. The 1.3a was out of stock and I needed a 25-foot HDMI cable NOW -- to run to a projector location before drywall goes up this weekend. So let's put it this way: If that "regular" HDMI cable at Monoprice is crap (and I assume it's 1.3, just not 1.3a) that will be antiquated in a few years, I'm going to be screwed.


I sure hope not.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,421 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idahoguy /forum/post/15559060


To the OP,


If it makes you feel any better, I just bought the exact cable you linked to at the top. The 1.3a was out of stock and I needed a 25-foot HDMI cable NOW -- to run to a projector location before drywall goes up this weekend. So let's put it this way: If that "regular" HDMI cable at Monoprice is crap (and I assume it's 1.3, just not 1.3a) that will be antiquated in a few years, I'm going to be screwed.


I sure hope not.

I didn't get mine yet to test but the only concern I have is that it isn't Category2 certified. The 1.3 vs 1.3a issue doesn't matter to me anymore since none of my components require Deep Color support.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by jirkstore /forum/post/15499316


Yeah to watch Florida pwn the Sooners tonight in 1080p would be a treat!

The best you can do is 1080i since no 1080p is broadcast. Blu-ray can do 1080p.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts
The only reason to replace a cable is if you get a bad picture with a 1080p signal (sparkles, dropouts, etc.). And, as noted, there's no such thing as a 120Hz source, so 1080p/60 is the highest frequency signal you need to be concerned about. If the picture looks fine then the cable is working as good as it needs to. With an HDMI digital signal the cable either works perfectly or badly. There's little in between.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idahoguy /forum/post/15559060


If that "regular" HDMI cable at Monoprice is crap (and I assume it's 1.3, just not 1.3a) that will be antiquated in a few years, I'm going to be screwed.


I sure hope not.

Dude 1080p will be the standard for a LONG time to come. We haven't even made the official break from analog broadcasts yet. Besides how long are you planning to use your current HD television? 10 years? More? Then there is no need to upgrade the cable if your TV and components limit the resolution. If you're the type to buy the next best thing every time it comes out, then a little drywall work is a small drop in a very big bucket.


Something else you may not realize is that just because something is sold today it doesn't mean it’s not capable of meeting our needs in the future. HDMI 1.3 increased bandwidth to 340 MHz which allows for higher resolution, such as WQXGA (2560x1600) or higher, across a single digital link vs. the current 1080x1920. Relax. You'll be fine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I have a 50" plasma LG. I have hdmi cables running from my PS3 direct to my Plasma (but unsure of type--it may be 1.0 or 1.1; i purchased the hdmi cables in March 2006). I also have my Direct TV running on hdmi directly to my Plasma.


I know that even with a 1.0 hdmi cable i will still get the best VIDEO from my blu ray movies, but will I always get the best AUDIO with a 1.0 or 1.1 hdmi cable when watching my blu ray movies.


I plan on buying a Denon AVR-789 and don't want to waste money ($70) on buying (3) 1.3a hdmi cables if i dont have to.


Wiki says that I will get full resolution of VIDEO AND AUDIO with 1.0 hdmi cables...


Anyone have any input???
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,027 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by dread76 /forum/post/16794632


I have a 50" plasma LG. I have hdmi cables running from my PS3 direct to my Plasma (but unsure of type--it may be 1.0 or 1.1; i purchased the hdmi cables in March 2006). I also have my Direct TV running on hdmi directly to my Plasma.


I know that even with a 1.0 hdmi cable i will still get the best VIDEO from my blu ray movies, but will I always get the best AUDIO with a 1.0 or 1.1 hdmi cable when watching my blu ray movies.


I plan on buying a Denon AVR-789 and don't want to waste money ($70) on buying (3) 1.3a hdmi cables if i dont have to.


Wiki says that I will get full resolution of VIDEO AND AUDIO with 1.0 hdmi cables...


Anyone have any input???

Here, HDMI 1.3b, they went up .49 cents, they are now .70 + shipping... http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-meter-foo...7138865&sr=8-1


Here is a 15' one, for under $3 + shipping... http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-Cable-1-3...7138865&sr=8-6
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
290 Posts
i was worried about the same thing. i've spent near half the day trying to understand the different hdmi versions. what a headache. I have and older hdmi cable unknown version but its not 1.3. and then i have a 1.3 which goes from my ps3 to the my reciever. I used the older hdmi to run from the reciever to the tv. I was only concerned and confused about the part of older cables not being dts:master audio complient?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by crutschow /forum/post/15466288


Monoprice does not have a 25ft., 24 gauge cable rated for 1.3a, category 2. If you want that you can get their 22 gauge cable http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2 . It's a rather stiff cable so you may want to add short connector saver cables at each end such as http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Quick question about the short connector saver cable... it does not say "1.3" anywhere. Does that mean it will negate the benefits of the 1.3 cable if you connect it at the end?
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top