AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,820 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I asked these questions in the Plasma TV sub-forum. However, maybe it would be more appropriate to ask the questions here:

1. I have been using a 46" LCD TV as a computer monitor for the last 6 years. I'm definitely a heavy computer user. I also watch TV/bluray on my computer as well. In the past, plasma TVs couldnt be used this way due to risk of burnin. I'm curious if modern plasma TVs can handle this kind of use. Magnolia hifi sales person assured me that burnin was covered by their warranty. However, if burnin is inevitable; and, can occur relatively quick, maybe it wouldnt be such a good idea.

2. Are current generation 54"-55" plasma TVs comparable to LCD TV brightness? Since I need the TV to act as a regular PC monitor; I'd need it to be roughly equal to LCD brightness (similar to the brightness one would expect from a typical LCD PC monitor at work under florescent lights). The plasma TV's I saw a couple of years ago didnt even come close.

·
Registered
184 Posts
Modern plasmas are much more resistant but not immune to burnin. The newer phosphors utilised are better than those used in the early sets, also most except the very cheapest incorporate features that reduce the problem. This includes a system whereby images are shifted by a pixel nor and then (invisible to the end user) and turning the black pillars shown when a 4:3 image is onscreen to grey etc

This said, if you're going to have bright, fixed images on display for many hours a day I would be more inclined to use an LCD TV.

·
Registered
23 Posts