AVS Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
EDIT: It's 1.5" more woofer!

For my dorm room I'm trying to decide between a pair of Primus P152s and P162s.

The P162s play louder (90db eff vs. 88db) and play deeper (6.5" woofer vs 5").

ON THE OTHER HAND they are quite a bit bigger (2" taller, 1" wider) and the 152 is already pretty big.

Given that I will have a sub, will the P162s give me much more than the P152s? I'd like to go with the smaller speakers if that means very little compromise in sound.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Strictly from a mathematical point of view, it increases the projected surface area of your woofer by over 69%. I'm no audio engineer, but I would guess that it has a noticeable effect on the output.

Does it make sense to make the jump for your situation? That's probably question for somebody more experienced than me. I would probably stick to the smaller one for a dorm room, but it may be worth it for you.

(edit for diameter change to 5")

·
Registered
875 Posts
The larger driver has over 69% the surface area. Does this seem like something that can make a difference?

EDIT: 5.25" -> 6" >50% increase in area; 5" -> 6.5" > 69%. So what JamesBob02 said (Good math skills. Being a student, enwar3 should have figured that out, too)

·
Registered
554 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by enwar3 /forum/post/14208031

Given that I will have a sub, will the P162s give me much more than the P152s? I'd like to go with the smaller speakers if that means very little compromise in sound.

It would be a minimal difference.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Well I mean I figured it'd be significantly larger in terms of area, but I was interested in terms of practical audible difference. I'm stumped because

1. The main difference between the 162s and 152s is bass extension, but wouldn't this be a moot point if I have a sub?