Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Boy,

I learned a lot from a very senior level professional video person last week (works at one of the most respected video companies in the U.S.). I am not a pro at all myself but might be a little dangerous...I have been trying to achieve something somewhat challenging...a macintosh VGA-RGBHV signal (I want to drive it 16:9 into a scaler and that is very challenging) + an RGBHV signal from an HDTV receiver, a regular VGA-RGBHV signal and a progressive YPbPr signal all going to a 50" panasonic display in as close to native form as possible (read scaler)...After lengthy discussions with a lot of people I finally had a conversation with someone who has been in the business on the pro side for some time...So here we go:

1) As many have said in this forum, "de-interlacing" is an important element of a scaler.

2) There are two other very important elements of a scaler: decoding and scaling