AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am buying my first projector and have narrowed my search down to 2.

My room is 13' wide by 22' long.

Screen size approx 100"(not built yet)

I plan on mounting projector on ceiling about 12' - 15' feet from screen.

First row of seats 15' - 18' second row 19' -21'

Projector use: HDTV and SDtv sporting events, Movies DVD and Blu-ray (don't have player yet was thinking of getting PS3),

Wii and PS2.

I am a newbie I may be wrong about some of my pros and cons I list with each projector so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Epson HC720

Price $1150 after rebates.

Comes with either a ceiling mount and dust cover ($150) + extra lamp ($349)

Or a Toshiba Digital 1080i HDTV-Ready DVD Player (refurbished) + extra lamp ($349).

Has higher lumens 1600 vs. benq 1100

Higher contrast 10000:1

2 yr warranty

Does not except 1080p input (not sure how big of a deal that is for Blu-ray)

Does not have HQV again not sure if that is a big deal. I have not seen reviews on standard definition picture quality for the HC720

BenQ W500:

Price $699 after rebate.

If I were to buy ceiling mount and bulb the BenQ would cost $1100

Has HQV - displays Standard definition well.

Heard it does well with upward conversion of 480P to 720P (Wii).

Accepts 1080P video input (BD player).

So I guess my question is BenQ W500 or HC720?

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Just read the whole Benq W500 thread and now reading the HC720 thread.

Anyone have an opinion on which is better?

·
Registered
4,477 Posts
The 720 is brighter, has better contrast, and a longer zoom. The w500 has a better upscaler and costs less. Only you can decide.

·
Registered
5,194 Posts
Wait a sec, the 720 can't accept 1080p 60hz or 24hz?

·
Registered
1,412 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by eightninesuited /forum/post/12920582

Wait a sec, the 720 can't accept 1080p 60hz or 24hz?