AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok real newbie here, do I need the 18 inch dish or the 18x24? I have to rooms hooked up and need to know within the next 48 hours. Will all the features work with the 18 inch or do I need the 18x24 can i do the 2 recording thing with the 18 inch? 1 record one watch?

thx

·
Registered
1,221 Posts
Get the 18x24 since you want dual tuners......

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
will the 18 inch work with what I wnat it to do? and what kind of deal should I swing if I upgrate to a 18x24 they seam to want to charge me an extra 149 bucks ? does this seem fair?

·
Registered
248 Posts
I only have a 18" dish with dual-lnb and I get my locals and everything I need on both tuners on both UTV receivers. (I have a 2X6 multi-switch hooked up as well). If you don't have HD or need it for locals, there isn't any reason to get the 18X24" dish.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Having the 18x24 has absolutely nothing to do with needing 2 tuners. Get the 18 unless you absolutely need the big one.

·
Registered
174 Posts
If you're prone to a lot of heavy rainstorms, the bigger dish might make sense, since it can (in theory) gather more signals ...other than that go with the 18"...

Chas.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Does the bigger dish really make a difference when it comes to rain fade? I live in Florida so from about late April to Late June, I expect to have fade problems!

My signal strength is usually in the mid 90's so I know that there is nothing wrong with my setup.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thank you for all the feed back, and the question was not worded correctly.