AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have a progrerssive scan dvd player hooked up to a sony 50 inch lcd rear projection hdtv. i'm happy with the picture but i recentely discovered that you can buy a dvd player that steps up the signal to almost hdtv quality.. ....i was wondering if ther was anything on the after market that i can install between my dvd player and hdtv to acheive the same results?????????? and if there is, will the picture quality improve very much???????....thank you in advance to anyone who may have an answer,i'm very new to home theatre in general,so again thank you.............................m29g

·
Registered
3,351 Posts
I believe they only step up the qulaity on non-copyprotected titles, of which there are few. And a seperate scaler would cost much more than just replacing your current dvd player, with one of the newer upscaling players. This question would be much better suited for the dvd player forum and not here..

·
Registered
3,449 Posts
Moving to the DVD Player Section...

·
Read the FAQ!
36,621 Posts
m29g,

The type of device you are talking about is made by DVDO. Check their Iscan products (there's a link to them among the equipment vendors collection at the top of this page).

However it is unlikely your old, progressive DVD player has a sufficient quality output to make it worth the effort. You want to feed a very high quality 480-interlaced signal to the Iscan, and the best you've probably got is a Component output which will already be subject to whatever quality issues are in the video output stage of your older player. The external device can't fix any damage that's already been done to the signal.

Despite that caveat, there ARE some older players that have an excellent reputation for the quality of the 480i signal they put out. You may just happen to have one of those. Why don't you tell us the make and model of your current player?