AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, So I am backing up my original DVD's onto my hard drive. I know they are big, but I have 1.6 TB's of space to play with.

I am new to the HTPC idea and had two questions.

1. When I use DVD Decrypter and put the whole DVD on my hard drive, and then play it with POWERDVD...will it lose any quality? Is it still 480P?

2. Do I need any kind of special hardware to get the better picture? When I play it off my hard drive or a dvd straight from my DVD-ROM will it automatically be progessive scan? Is the DVD-ROM drive a "progressive scan player?" Or do I need some kind of hardware? A special vid card?

·
Premium Member
5,402 Posts
The HTPC is a native progressive device. Even interlaced output (two interlaced fields) is made up from progresive frames.

·
Registered
16,749 Posts
North American DVDs are MPEG2 encoded in NTSC 480i format not in 480p format.

The ability for a PC to convert the stored 480i DVD to a high PQ 480p format is a function of the DVD Decoder used on your PC and of the quality of the hardware accceleration provided to the Decoder by your graphics card. See the NVIDIA white paper on PureVideo at the NVIDIA.com Website for a description of what is possible on a PC.

·
Premium Member
5,402 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMoore09
so does Decrypter degrade quality?
No.

·
Registered
294 Posts
do a search on zoomplayer and ffdshow, you will have picture quality that is on par with, or superior to high end external video scaler/post-processors. also check out htpcnews for a good guide on set-up: http://htpcnews.com/main.php?id=ffdshowdvd_1

PowerDVD will not likely give you the quality that you want, especially once you have seen what is possible.

ZP is very affordable, like $20 and worth every penny.

·
Registered
294 Posts