AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased a Sony VPH-1020Q1 Crt projector and I would like to connect my DVD player to it (samsung DVD HD841). The dvd player has out component and s-video connections. The Sony VPH-1020Q1 has RGB Connectors - R, G, B, Sync/Hd, Vd. I am interested in the best picture for a home theater (of course) without a heavy investment. Also if you know how i can convert the R, G, B, Sync/Hd, Vd to accept a blue ray hdmi. I have some viewing experience with the Epson movie mate 30s and i am wondering if the Sony is going to be inferior or superior. My present viewing screen is 92".

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I should also mention that the unit has an 8 pin, and a BNC connector for input.

The 8 pin connector was used for a video recorder and the BNC was used for a sony betamax video players. Can i get straight wires:component connections to bnc rgb? There are such cables but they are straight 3 to 3 omitting the sync/hv and dv.

·
Registered
18,507 Posts
While the 1020 has RGB connections on it, it will not support more than 320 X 240 resolution. That's a 1984 to 1986 projector, component signals as you know them today didn't exist back then, and I don't think you'll get a video card to output that low of a resolution at this point. Use composite video to connect to the 1020, enjoy it, play with it and eventually... upgrade! With the set being 23 years old now, expect maybe another year or two out of it.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thank you curt palme

The purpose of this purchase was simply to learn something about crts, so that perhaps i am a more informed customer in the future. I only paid 30 dollars. I hope to upgrade but want to know what to look for. In Craiglist and in Ebay there is a sea of these projectors, but i resist the temptation until I learn a bit with the projector i know have.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·