AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the HDTV experience and am having problems finding the best sony dvd player to go with my set

I picked up the sony 34 kdxs955 HDTV about two weeks ago and I am thrilled with it. I live in Canada so I have to use a HD Digital box to display HD content even though the tv has the built in tuner.

I am thrilled with the HD programming when it is widescreen and the show was recorded in HD but some of the HD networks here still display in 4:3 aspect ratio and even the quality of older shows on the hd channels that was not recorded in hd seems to be lacking. Is this normal?

Anyways, can anyone help me pick a sony dvd player for this tv. upscaling and all of that is confusing to me thus far. Any suggestions regarding other accessories for this tv would also be appreciated.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Personally, I would skip the Sony DVD player idea altogether. While Sony is good generally, I just have a problem recommending them considering you can get a good quality dvd player at a much cheaper price. I would recommend the Philips DVP642, which you should be able to pick up at Wal-Mart or online. Other good choices are the Samsung DVD-HD941 or the Panasonic DVD-S29S.

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
320 Posts
I have the same TV and have the Panasonic 77S. Great pair! Some DVD's look like true HD! I use both components and HDMI and toggle back and forth. The DVD will determine which one to use.

·
Registered
758 Posts
I have the 36XS955 with the Panny S77 and it looks fantastic. Like masbama said, some DVD's look like HD.

Make sure you get a calibration disc, if you don't have one already, and start tweaking it in and recheck periodically as it breaks in. It'll be well worth the time and effort.

·
Registered
758 Posts