AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at getting a new DVD Player and want to see if I can get a better pic on my Pioneer Elite HDTV.

From what I have researched so far the Zenith DVB-318 has the ability to upscale to 1080i which my TV supports. DVDs look pretty damn good on the TV already and after some thought I'm thinking that the TV itself is "upscaling" the signal to 1080i.

So the question is if I were to get a DVD Player that can upscale, am I going to see a much better picture, given that I think my TV is already upscaling the signal.

Newbie here in need of some education.

Any support is greatly appreciated.

BoomerangThree

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The TV is a Pioneer Elite Pro-520HD and I don't believe it has a scaler. It has a mode function that I believe expands the picture, i.e. full, cinema, zoom, screen, but I don't think this is scalling.

So at this point, unless someone can confirm my suspiscions, the only scaler would be in the DVD Player.

This is after talking with a couple people since my 1st post.

1) So, the Zenith should provide a "much" better picture from the DVD Player when it's sending out 1080i???

2) Also, someone mentioned the Samsung DVD-HD850 as another upscaling DVD player. Will this provide upscaling on component video like the early generation Zenith DVB-318 or will I have to go DVI on it.

Thanks a lot for the reply and support.

·
Registered
7,958 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoomerangThree
The TV is a Pioneer Elite Pro-520HD and I don't believe it has a scaler. It has a mode function that I believe expands the picture, i.e. full, cinema, zoom, screen, but I don't think this is scalling.

So at this point, unless someone can confirm my suspiscions, the only scaler would be in the DVD Player.

This is after talking with a couple people since my 1st post.