AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1,957 Posts
What magazine is this from? Those numbers are almost the opposite of my experiences.

Sony's SUCK! Had terrible luck.

Princos Suck! Over 50% failure rate.

I've burned over 200 Memorex and only had three bad and they were replaced free by Memorex. Why are they even grouped with Princo?

I've also had Very Good luck with Apple discs. Burned about 50 with zero bad discs.

I've had limited experience with Optodisc and its been very good so far.

·
Registered
3,700 Posts
You don't see Pioneer on the top 5 do you? Maybe they came in fourth worst.

·
Registered
1,389 Posts
For what it's worth: I read that Nasa is using Samsung DVD-R media for archival purposes. So naturally I went and ordered a spindle for my really important stuff. So far (around 35 discs burned) they are working quite well and seem to be somewhat more compatible with other players than my generic-looking Vivastars. I paid approximately 1.50 each for the Samsung discs at Meritline.

Happy recording!

Peter M

·
Registered
3,700 Posts
Suprised NASA didn't geek out and do the light refraction (or whatever) tests that were used to generate the pics in the above posts before they settled on Samsung. Maybe Samsung just paid NASA a lot of product placement money so they could appear next to Tang as the official DVD of the Space Shuttle.

LOL

In any event, glad the Samsung disks are working out, Pete. Thanks for the additional data point.

Vic

·
Registered
1,397 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by vferrari
You don't see Pioneer on the top 5 do you? Maybe they came in fourth worst.
I was considering Maxell (#3) and Apple (#5) as the same difference since they are also just rebranded Pioneer media.

·
Registered
3,700 Posts
Doh. My bad, sorry.