AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've seen a number of DVD/VCR combos on the market, but not any progressive DVD/VCR.

1. Is there such a thing?

2. Is there any brand/model that is better?

3. Am I nuts for using a combo model?

My kids still have tons of VHS tapes and I really don't want to be hassled with always changing the input for them. I'm not a HDTV techie, so I'm not overly worried about getting the absolute best picture.

This will be connected to a Hitachi 51" SWX20B. Thanks!

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The Panasonic is the one I was looking at, also. I only found one review on it and it was very critical of the reliability (this guy had two break down and finally switched brands). That's just one review, but it did scare me a little. The only other one I found after posting was a Sonic Blue (same as GoVideo), but the brand scares me, also.

Think I'll take the Panasonic over the Sonic Blue, if I don't find anything else to choose from. Thanks for the heads-up on the rebate.

·
Registered
242 Posts
Samsung has one as well. It also has a Sony Memory Stick slot in case you happen to own a Sony digital camera as well. The Samsung model number is 2500.

-Skip

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
dwarmka,

Did you look at the Panasonic PV-D4762 also? It's a little more, but has commercial skip.

Also, what do you think of your PV-D4752? Clumsy? Picture? Thanks!

·
Registered
347 Posts