AVS Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
N00B to this board. Please be gentle.

I have a TV in my bedroom (Sony Wega KV32FS210) that I'd like to hook up to a pc. It only has component and composite plugs. I bought a DVI to Component cable and thought that's all I would need to do. The screen is scrambled. I tried changing to different resolutions and refresh rates. The screen would change but never a clear picture.

I called Sony. He said that this TV only supports 480I analog resolution. Since my video card won't go lower then 800x600 he said it is not possible to use this TV as a computer monitor.

I'm doing more research as I have never used a TV as a monitor before. Maybe I can just get a different video card? This project I thought would be easy when I bought a Pinnacle HD Wireless To Go box. That was a tech support nightmare from hell (still waiting for refund check). Since I have bought a Slingbox Pro, HD Connect and a bridge (about $180) just to avoid getting a 2nd DVR (about $16 a month) for my bedroom. I feel pretty stupid now. Not to mention I busted my laptop in one of my tantrums.

·
Registered
185 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by baddist1 /forum/post/15592216

I bought a DVI to Component cable and thought that's all I would need to do....Since my video card won't go lower then 800x600 he said it is not possible to use this TV as a computer monitor.

The only possible DVI to component cable I can think of would be a cable that takes the analog portion of DVI which is basically VGA, and breaks it out to RGB. RGB is not the same as YPbPr component, which is why the cable didn't work for you.

If your TV has an s-video input, you could use a video card with s-video out. That's really the best and only solution, and isn't a great one either. Using a TV as a computer monitor seldom produces good results.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteWhiskers /forum/post/15594207