AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
778 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Hughes E86 and an RCA DTC-100 hooked up to the same TV and antenna. The E86 is hooked up through the component connection and the RCA through the RGB port. This has probably been dicsussed before, but from my observations the DTC100 OTA substantially outperforms the E86. The signal strength has much less fluctuation and when the antenna is pionted at my "sweet spot" the RCA gets reception on 2 more digital channels then the E86. I dont know why this is the case, but I thought I would pass my findings along.

·
Registered
780 Posts
About 12 months ago I ran the same experiment with similar results. My RCA DTC 100's are still running fine.

·
Premium Member
11,869 Posts
I am actually surprised by this. I have no experience with the E86 but I do have three DTC-100s. I have compared the DTC to the Panny TU-DST50 and the Mits PM tuner and the DTC was not as good as the Panny and the Mits. The Mits smoked them all. All did pick up all of the available channels but the Mits was free of drops on a channel that is problematic here in Chicago.

·
Registered
3,175 Posts
I have the Hughes, DTC-100 and Promise Module all connected to the same antenna, and the Hughes and PM are very close in reception, both somewhat stronger than the DTC-100. On stations,my Hughes signal meter shows 100%, the DTC-100 only gets about 65%. Both will receive a watchable image down to about 38-40% then the pixilating begins. The PM doesn't have a meter but is on the same TV as the Hughes and pretty much is consistent with the Hughes. I do get less signal fluctuation with the PM then the Hughes, however.

·
Registered
3,080 Posts